Swift by jeffBoats - Artesania Latina (older version) - First model build

Hello!

This is my first ever post on MSW. A friend and I recently found out about ship building and through looking at kits and build videos, we were immediately hooked - fortunately, it only took a couple days of  "research" until we found MSW. Before we even had kits in our hands, we read through many build logs - the resources here are tremendously helpful, thank you all!!!! I have little woodworking experience and no modeling experience, but I was ready for the challenge. Looking at all of the beautiful boats on here is quite inspirational, and certainly narrowed my "type" of model to a wooden ship kit. 

As a college student, I was on a budget when looking for my first kit. The Swift kit by Artesania Latina seemed like a common starter kit, which I liked (there are already many build logs for this boat which is largely why I chose it!) I managed to find a "new" kit (the older version from 1982) on ebay for $70 with some tools/stand included.

20200607_161337.thumb.jpg.02e8da58b5e1b6f91fb89950d676fb0b.jpg

I have already started building so I will add to this thread. Bear with me - this is most likely going to be messy and slow!!!! Thanks again to everyone who's log I have already read. 

Got started with fitting the bulkheads to the keel. I used lego pieces to stabilize and get the angle as close as possible.

bulkhead.thumb.jpg.7cd6deb6222c2b996cce94e156c4a67e.jpg

The instructions didn't say to add supports between any bulkheads except where the mast is supported - I was nervous and thought it'd be good practice to add in some more supports.

20200607_162706.thumb.jpg.5d80622f5da415fc29c47f9a579127eb.jpg