A Model Builder’s Cabin

I was sharing a studio (converted garage) with the admiral who is a potter, but we found that it didn’t really work to best effect for both of us. Serious pottery is a pretty messy business and she needed the extra space I was taking up as her business grew. I was relegated to the basement last year. So after I got back this fall from my latest construction gig up north I set to building a small model workshop for myself just out back, which I’m just finishing. The cabin is a compact 10x14 and is fully insulated and heated with a small 240v system. It houses an electrical sub panel for my level 2 car charging power unit, and I extended the roof to create a carport. This will be my light duty workshop for model building and assorted projects. I’m an architect and builder so my main power equipment (compressors, saws, planers etc) is located in another space. I created one long wall hung 14’ bench on the one side, and the other houses various tables I use. I’ve yet to install the flooring and all my small modeling tools but you get the idea. Shortly I’ll be setting up here to finish the final rigging stage of my Bounty, and then move on to my next victim.

7E974402-1043-4949-A696-C3B47D623EC1.jpeg

487FB7FB-23F3-496C-922F-699CFCF2F2BA.jpeg

38A337F1-989C-450E-A387-03028F54573F.jpeg

4F7505AA-1CDE-4683-B2CD-A82A4886DCF7.jpeg

CA537E99-E5C4-4E1A-9FF0-A42A866A6363.jpeg

Tim Moore

Perfect is the enemy of good

In progress

IJN Pre-Dreadnought Battleship Mikasa, 1:200, Hobby Boss

On Deck
DH.9a Ninak, 1/32, Wingnut Wings
The Blue Sky Company, 1:48, Sierra West Models

Completed  

Fiat 806 Grand Prix 1:12, Italeri; Fifie 1:32, Amati Victory Model; HMS Bounty 1:48, Artesania Latina; Endeavour 1:60; Corel; Miss Severn 1:8, Legend Model Boats; Calypso, Billing Boats; Carmen Fishing Trawler, A.L. ; Dallas Revenue Cutter, A.L., Bluenose, A.L.