Hello from the high desert...

jdowney

I've been a member here for several years but never posted.  Finally getting around to finishing a small schooner I started 25 years ago - been sitting on a shelf with no rigging for a looooong time!  It was one of the last kits I bought when I worked for a hobby store through college, just a little solid hull thing that Midwest or some similar outfit put out.

I've been a modeler and woodworker since childhood, so wood ship models always seemed like a natural fit.  Too many hobbies over the years though, just never seemed to get around to such involved projects.  Last summer I was doing some fiber optic work at my job and realized that I could still do the fussy, tiny work for model building, which made me think I ought to finish rigging the schooner :D

Though I've since separated from that job, I'm not retired yet (and may still do some contract work for their fiber needs).... probably one more stint of day jobs before I truly retire.  Got a line on one that would lend itself well to model making in the slack time, we'll see if that pans out!

Higher - 6000' and above in New Mexico.  I split my time between a tiny town in the middle of the state and a bigger town in the mountains outside Alamogordo (9000' there).  Though the temperatures are moderate, it is still dry around here, though probably not as dry as Victorville.  I did some summer work in college working out of Lone Pine, that seemed a bit drier :D

:sign:

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64