Lowell Grand Banks Dory by tlee01 - FINISHED - Model Shipways

This is my very first build.  I always have been fascinated with model ships from the first time I saw a model in the Chart House restaurant in Christiansted USVI some 40 years ago to going down to the Seaport Museum in Philadelphia and watching some of the members of the Philadelphia Ship Model Society in the Ship Shack (before covid) build their models.  

A little about myself, just pasted my 64th birthday and looking forward to retiring in a couple of years.  I am a mechanical engineer and a partner in a small engineering firm.  The last 10 or so years I do more of running the company and really miss do designing and watch my design come to be.
I am hoping this will full fill some of missing part of design.  While not doing the design but figuring out the problems and challenges that come from building a model.  In reading the build logs and seeing what people do is amazing.  I was inspired by lraymo and following her as she did her first build.

I have chosen the dory because of the Model Shipways Shipwright Series builds on each kit and I download the instruction and they seem clear.  I have read about some of the instruction that come with some kits and rather have something clear in the beginning.  

Life is to short to be serious all the time. So, if you can't laugh at yourself, your not doing it right.

Current Builds

18th Century Armed Longboat 

Finished Builds

Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack

Lowell Grand Banks Dory

Norwegian Sailing Pram

Welcome to Model Ship World.  You have picked a good kit for your first wooden ship model kit.  If you click on the "Lowell Grand Banks Dory" tag below the title at the top of this page, it will display all of the build logs on MSW of this kit.  This kit builds into a very nice model. Good luck on your build.

Ryland

Member - Hampton Roads Ship Model Society

- Ship Model Society of New Jersey

- Nautical Research Guild