English Pinnace by rudybob - Model Shipways - Scale 1:24

Hello. Doing a build log requires time which I have. I don't know about my skill level at writing or building except to write it isn't there yet, if ever. I do enjoy both and and want to advance my abilities with each project, whatever media. I did a build log on an airplane once and I found it wanting at the end. I will do better here.

Edited by rudybob
typo

I am really new to this and still learning. I have found that soaking the planks, bending them in to position and using rubber bands and clips to attach them to the boat and then allowing them to dry to shape works well.  A hair dryer will speed up the drying and can also be used to tune up the curves by wetting the outside of the plank again and hitting with  more hot air from the hair drier. 

Dan

Current Build:  Sultana 1:64

Completed: Lowell Grand Banks Dory

Norwegian Sailing Pram 1:12

Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack

NRG 18th Century Merchantman Half Hull Project

9 hours ago, DanB said:

I am really new to this and still learning. I have found that soaking the planks, bending them in to position and using rubber bands and clips to attach them to the boat and then allowing them to dry to shape works well.  A hair dryer will speed up the drying and can also be used to tune up the curves by wetting the outside of the plank again and hitting with  more hot air from the hair drier. 

Dan

Great Tips! I will see what I can do with rubber bands. I have had no luck with the clips. Thanks

On this model I promised myself I would work on it daily if at all possible. One day off can turn into a week far to easy then I forget what I had been thinking and planning. A few days back I was looking at the included directions and I saw one of the strakes bent around a bottle cap. I grabbed a Vernor's bottle cap and it matched the bow curve pretty well. I held that cap up to the plans and marked that cap in a matching arc. It fits pretty well. Good tip there.