La Belle by Kranck - as per the monography of Jean Baudriot

As I dived into the hobby 2 years ago, I had no idea of its depth and the time it would consume. I started with HMS Victory, a common mistake I suppose. I had bought a kit for my mother that had just retired. But she told me it was too difficult for her. And, well, she had started several hobbies at the same time. So I gave it a try. I had no previous knowledge of woodworking. I'm a medical doctor but I got an engineering master earlier. So I supposed I should be able to get the best of it. But this ship was a mistake. there is no way I could master it with 3 files, some glue, two cutters and absolutely no experience. I spent almost one year on this kit though. I managed somehow to finish planking. At the same time, I joined a modeling club that happens to be quite active in my area. Interestingly, they used to manage a small ship museum in a parking building on one of the villages that border the mediterranean sea here. The museum closed when they got older, but they are still actively building.  Most of the members do scratch builds. Most are over 75 though... This is in no way comparable to the  guilds that are active around Paris, and the quality of the builds is not as high, but those folks are nice and I'm a beginner !

So I started building from scratch Le Cerf, from the monography of Boudriot. I learned a lot. I just finished planking. I use this build as a draft to test various procedures and learn as much as I can. I do not intend to log this build.

I decided to start an 'admiralty' model as I feel that I would love dealing with the intricacies of ship carpentry. I will use what I learned with Le Cerf to do what I can with La Belle, another small ship well described by Baudriot. 

I have access to lots of books and I bought a lot of tools these last months.