HMS Victory by N80FTY - DeAgostini - 1:84 - first build

Hi All,

This is my first build, I started it in April 2023. This is the stage it is at.

Port side which has had its first sand 24/12/23. Not had any wood fillers applied yet so will need a touch up

image.thumb.jpeg.ade08473d33f1f2b4df4d9ebb04f71cc.jpeg

Starboard side that still needs its first sanding.

image.thumb.jpeg.59e702f58a1fefb357d5d8ea12d6ff3d.jpeg

Hull as you can see Port side has had its first sanding. 

image.thumb.jpeg.8f0fd995942a536077e4427a18545393.jpeg

Top View of middle deck which I stencilled all the floor rather than just a section.

image.thumb.jpeg.63efbdd36401b024bd77878e13bbd137.jpeg

That is really not too shabby a planking job, especially for a first model -- and a difficult one as well. A lot of first-timers don't even get this far, so you're doing great!

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix

17 minutes ago, ccoyle said:

That is really not too shabby a planking job, especially for a first model -- and a difficult one as well. A lot of first-timers don't even get this far, so you're doing great!

Thanks Chris.

Its only been sanded with a 60grit so far to get rid of the main discrepancies. Once I've added the top planking, (poop, quarter deck, waist, forecastle) and fitted the keel and  ill give it a proper sanding. I was thinking a 320 grit. Would this be good enough or should I go finer. It will be a fully painted version. With either proper copper tiles if I can still get them or 6mm - (1/4") copper tape

Sorry forgot to say ill fill the small imperfections with Deluxe Model Lite Balsa, as I've read its pretty good and wont add too much weight to the model

Edited by N80FTY