What kind, brand and where do you buy your end mills?

Forgive me if this has been discussed--I did a quick search but didn't find what I was looking for.

I'm new to milling (other than some crude experiments with a Proxxon rotary tool in a drill press type holder), and I'm trying to get my information in order before spending any more on bits/mills

It seems that a 2-flute end mill is good for wood, upcut or downcut I'm not sure, but thinking downcut may be better.   I'm not sure how much this matters.  Some don't say whether they are up or down cut.  I'm looking for good quality, smooth finish, minimal tear-out.

What do you recommend, and who do you get them from?  Any other useful info that I should know about end mills?

Thanks,

Ron

I'm talking 1/4" or 1/8" shank size, 1/16" to 1/4" cutting size.

See below.

This image refers to "router" bits, but I have seen the terminology when talking about end mills as well (not even sure what, if any, difference there is between the two).

c8b4d1a33a7433ede1e5d810048b7a33ed8b206e.jpeg.f51b2f9623b4ab5f2a27fb9e4c7afdd2.jpeg

Ron

Edited by rlb

I am having a difficult time imagining where I would need to make any of the three cuts in wood.

For an outside shape, a sanding drum -slower, but more forgiving.

A slitting/slotting blade for a thru channel

A burr for short. 

The tip of a 220 twist drill for a rabbet-  but in hind sight, I think a chisel would have been wiser - much slower - but wiser.

In any case, I would want to get the wood shaving out.  If doing that affects the edge or surface, I would use a different tool. 

For wood - slow and shallow?

NRG member 45 years

Current:  

HMS Centurion 1732 - 60-gun 4th rate - Navall Timber framing

HMS Beagle 1831 refiit  10-gun brig with a small mizzen - Navall (ish) Timber framing

The U.S. Ex. Ex. 1838-1842
Flying Fish 1838  pilot schooner -  framed - ready for stern timbers
Porpose II  1836  brigantine/brig - framed - ready for hawse and stern timbers