Crochet Hooks

I know I am a beginner, but I have done a lot of arts and crafts in my lifetime.  I am still working on my first ship, which has thin thread for the rigging, etc.  Someone may have already come up with this idea, but I thought I would share it.  I don't know if this will help any of you or not, but I discovered that a small metal crochet hook helps me grab the thread for knots or when I am trying to get it into small holes.  Anyway, they would work great for grabbing any type of thread or rope when you can't seem to get a hold of it or get it to go in the direction you want it to, and there are several different sizes of hooks.

If you look at rigging tools sold at Micromark.com or modelexpo.com, they may be similar. I've heard of some who have modified sewing needles as well to create various hooks and grabbers by glueing the point into a small wood dowel to act as a handle and trimming the thread slot at the other end in various ways.

Ken

Current Build: Authentic Hannah Kit Bash

Pending Continuation: Sea of Galilee Boat

Completed Build:  MS AVS

On Shelf: AL Independence, Blue Jacket Alfred

I found one of the most  useful "tools" for rigging is  a needle threader . I bought about 4 at my local haberdashery and found them invaluable for threading lines through 2mm blocks. I made one longer by soft soldering the thin wire to an extension so I could reach hard to get at blocks. I made something similar to a crochet hook using a thin wire with a small hook at the end, the other end epoxied into a small piece of dowel.

Pierre

Just Started: Golden Hind scratch build

Previous - Scratch Built :Mayflower  HMS Myrmidon 

Kit: HMB Endeavour

+/- 20 RC Boats:Tugs,Yachts, Skimmers 

4 Miniature Freestyle Sailing Boats

I am one of those that has modified needles to do my rigging. This way, I make the exact tool I feel I need to do certain(s) job(s).

I then red-heat the rear part needle and insert it in a plastic brush handle.