Connecting Pins - Need help on first build

I'm no expert so take this with a grain of salt. I would be tempted to try to put a bit of solder on each end of the wire. The tricky part would be doing that without the white metal melting. Maybe a soldering iron vs. a torch would give you the control you need.

I'd use a fine brass pin with a head already formed on one end. Insert the pin and then flatten the other end by squeezing it in a hefty pair of pliers till it flattens a little. Then orient the part so the flat side is out of sight if possible. Good luck.

Bill, in Idaho

Completed Mamoli Halifax and Billings Viking ship in 2015

Next  Model Shipways Syren

I would like to know as well.  Because I was trying to flat'n a brass nail in a hinge recently and when the nail turned slightly in the pliers and ended up crushing the hinge. 

I ended up not doing anything and let gravity do the work.

"Peace is not something you wish for; It's something you make, Something you do, Something you are, And something you give away" by Robert Fulghum

I use "Amnesia" black monofilament (fishing) line.  It comes in at least 4 thicknesses (15, 20, 25 and 30 pound test).  I gently touch one end to a heat source (Heat gun or soldering iron) flattening it a bit, insert, clip off leaving about 1/16" + and touch it with the heat source.  It's like rivets or bolts on both ends.  Takes some practice.

Maury

16 minutes ago, RussR said:

Because I was trying to flat'n a brass nail in a hinge recently and when the nail turned slightly in the pliers and ended up crushing the hinge. 

The brass pin needs to be annealed before trying to flatten the end.  Once it's annealed it is easy to flatten.

Kurt Van Dahm

Director

NAUTICAL RESEARCH GUILD

www.thenrg.org

SAY NO TO PIRACY. SUPPORT ORIGINAL IDEAS AND MANUFACTURERS

CLUBS

Nautical Research & Model Ship Society of Chicago

Midwest Model Shipwrights

North Shore Deadeyes

The Society of Model Shipwrights

Butch O'Hare - IPMS