Hello from Massachusetts

Hi, my name is Lyle and I found your great site while researching expanding my hobby. I'm a truck driver and a lot of my weekends are spent at truckstops. I've been thinking of ways to spend this time creating something. I have been building plastic kits for many years, but didn't want those paints or glues in the cab. I knew I wanted to work in wood, as most materials are water-based. In my mind model ships always seemed a daunting task, what with all those sails and rigging. Browsing the internet I discovered there were companies that offered beginner level kits that were much less complex than what I picture when thinking model ships. Then finding MSW I knew I could try one of these kits. I decided on the OcCre Polaris based on them having video tutorials for me to learn from. After all, a hobby is about learning new techniques and this is certainly new to me. I ordered the kit from Ages of Sail as I saw they are a sponsor of MSW. The shipped the next day, but getting the kit was a challenge as I had to time getting home on the same day the kit arrived. Got it! I can see ordering things I need will be part of the challenge of this build, as my local hobby shop is strictly trains. I will be starting a log as well, as I'm sure I will value the input.

Current Build- OcCre Polaris

:piratebo5:

:sign:

Regards, Patrick

Finished :  Soleil Royal Heller 1/100   Wasa Billing Boats   Bounty Revell 1/110 plastic (semi scratch)   Pelican / Golden Hind  1/45 scratch

Current build :  Mary Rose 1/50 scratch

Gallery Revell Bounty  Pelican/Golden hind 1/45 scratch

To do Prins Willem Corel, Le Tonnant Corel, Yacht d'Oro Corel, Thermopylae Sergal 

Shore leave,  non ship models build logs :