Thickness Sander questions

Go to solution Solved by Jaager,

Hello everyone,

I've recently built a thickness sander using a 3 x 5 inch drum driven by a high torque DC motor. I've never used one before and was curious what speed I should be running the drum? Power is not an issue as I can get up to 48 volts at 10 amps current draw. The motor is rated to 12 - 36 V rated at 9000 rpm at 36. Speed has been cut in half by a 2:1 pulley/timing belt. The other question I had is what direction should the drum be turning? I thought I had read somewhere here I believe, that material should be fed against the direction of rotation. Any help would really be appreciated!

Thanks a million

Ron

Current Build- HMS Winchelsea 1764 1:48

• Solution

1700 rpm is about the max  for any of this sort of sanding machine.  I have not done the experiment, but I suspect that  mush faster will produce a well charred surface.

If the rotation is in the direction of the feed, you will have an electric motor driven version of a medieval or Roman era projectile throwing weapon war machine.

Even at your slower 4500 rpm, any stock will probably deeply penetrate drywall.  Mere human flesh would not stand a chance.

I suggest dropping back 10 yards and buying a Byrnes Sander.  I have experience with making my own - from way before there was any commercial machine - and the ease of use and precision with the Byrnes makes any homemade machine an exercise in pointless frustration. 

NRG member 45 years

Current:  

HMS Centurion 1732 - 60-gun 4th rate - Navall Timber framing

HMS Beagle 1831 refiit  10-gun brig with a small mizzen - Navall (ish) Timber framing

The U.S. Ex. Ex. 1838-1842
Flying Fish 1838  pilot schooner -  framed - ready for stern timbers
Porpose II  1836  brigantine/brig - framed - ready for hawse and stern timbers
Vincennes  1825  Sloop-of-War  -  timbers assembled, need shaping
Peacock  1828  Sloop-of -War  -  timbers ready for assembly