HMS Victory 1765 by Doc Watson - Scale 1: 64 - POF - in 'The Old Single Dock' Chatham

'Even a journey of 1000 miles starts with the first step'

About 16 years ago I started drawing up plans for a 1/64 scale POF Victory and after a few years on other projects have resurrected the plans (from an old computer) and decided to create a build log of my glacial progress. I have John McKay's 'Anatomy of the Ship' for reference and have scanned and scaled the images and drawn some of the ship in 'Corel Draw' and have started work on the keel and stem and stern. After looking at the official web site for Victory I saw that they will sell 'old wood' taken off the ship when repairing and renovating various parts. If you want some of the wood you have to 'request ' it by stating how much you want and what it will be used for. So after writing to the Naval officer in charge and explaining I wanted to build this model he agreed and a few blocks of wood arrived (not cheap!) and included certificates of authenticity signed by the acting Naval officer. I have enough for the keel, stem and stern and most of the dead wood. The keel wood came in a block which need to be ripped into approximately 10mm x 10mm lengths and after using a saw (no progress on 200 year old oak) then trying a hacksaw (still little or no progress) I asked a colleague who teaches woodworking at a local college where I now work to cut it using a bandsaw. He came back a day later with the wood cut down but then asked what wood it was as the bandsaw usually lasted a month before sharpening the blade and only just managed to cut the pieces before being re-sharpened, good job I didn't tell him before he cut it! I was then worried about how I could cut the scarph joints in the keel so bought a small milling machine which will hopefully do the job!!!