Newbie question re: putty.

Wondering how many ended up with a bunch of putty and a lot of sanding on their first model.  Lol 

I’ve made so many tiny structural planking errors that I will be sanding and inserting putty forever.    I’m reminded of my buddies in high school whose muscle cars were held together mostly by bondo.  

I will know better my next time.  

Not to worry Lag,

Most of us have issues at times getting planking to be tight.  Next time study the tutorials here at MSW by David Antscherl and Chuck Passaro and if you follow their methods you will be able to throw out the putty.   

Allan

PLEASE take 30 SECONDS and sign up for the epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series.   Click on http://trafalgar.tv   There is no cost other than the 30 seconds of your time.  THANK YOU

Are you doing double planking?  I am a newbie and still on my first build.  I did learn and improve a good bit from first to second planking.  I used a good bit of putty to fill in gaps on first planking.  Didn't use nearly as much on second.  As Allan says I hope to throw it away on next build!

My first few projects were disasters!  Always available to answer a question if you need a hand.  Cheers!

I grew up like most teens assembling plastic models.  I naively thought this would be the same process.  Nope!

I will likely spend more time sanding than I will assembling.  Lol 

Thanks for the words of encouragement.   This is a helpful community. 

Edited by Laggard

24 minutes ago, Laggard said:

I will likely spend more time sanding than I will assembling.  Lol 

Hi,

When removing wood in bulk, the tool sequence is rasp, files, then sandpaper.  Sanding is a finishing step and is not meant for bulk wood removal.  So if one finds they are spending a lot of time sanding it’s time to think about either a rasp or file.  A file can provide a finish that often does not need sanding.  Files offer finer control as well.  Hope this helps.