Ten kits. Where to start.

Mark m

I am a fairly new ship builder, having completed the Model Shipways Dory and working on the Norwegian Pram.  Next up is the Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack.

I have recently acquired a number of kits in a package deal, and am trying to decide the order in which to build them.

Any opinions on the relative difficulty of these kits:
Occre Essex
Model Shipways Armed Virginia Sloop

Model Shipways Glad Tidings
Model Shipways Flying Fish
Model Shipways Ben Latham
Model Shipways Emma Berry
Model Shipways Bedford Whaleboat
Model Shipways Fair American
Model Shipways Niagara
Model Shipways Sultana (old, solid hull)

Hi Mark,

I'm also in the middle of building the Norwegian Pram.  I'm up to the point of working on the masts.  If you want to see how the Pinky Schooner is built, I encourage you to look at a you tube video by Olha Batchvarov.  It is absolutely an amazing log which captures beautiful detail of the work.  In my view the challenge in the Flying Fish is the rigging.  For the Ben Latham the challenge for me would be getting the hull and keel faired just right though the rigging is moderately challenging.  The Emma Berry seems to be a natural progression from the Norwegian Pram as it has a little more rigging.The Bedfpord Whaleboat is all about precision and detail as there is not much to the model and the pride comes from scale accuracy and detail in the painting.  Wow!  The Fair American has a lot of intricate rigging.  Let's hope the rigging plans are accurate, otherwise you'll end up doing some research.  My chyallenge on the Niagra would be getting the masts raked properly and setting the bowsprit and marlin strikers well placed for all the rigging.  My first ship was a solid hull model.  I spent a lot of time on fairing and shaping the hull.  The rigging was also challenging.  Though not too complicated, it gave me some experience on getting the rigging done.  I'd suggest getting some books on model ship rigging.