Old eyes and shakey hands needs some advice

David Rice

I am in my 70's. I have a very rare disease/condition called Stiff Person Syndrome. I have been fighting the disease for over 25 years.  I am currently trying to finish my 1:64 scale USS Syren Brig.  Over the years my vision has gotten poorer, and my dexterity isn't what it used to be. I am really struggling trying to finish the Syren. Rigging guns, sails, and small detail work. I do not want to stop modeling. I need help and want suggestions for choosing my next model based upon my physical limitations, which will continue to deteriorate over time. Which scale?  Type of ship? Stay with wood?  Move to plastic?

Starting the Model Shipways U.S. Brig Syren

Working on the Caldercraft HMS Snake

Completed Scratch Built of Russian Armed Merchant Ship Neva 1801-1805

Scratch Commercial Fishing Vessels

One idea:  Pyro (also sold under the Lindbergh brand) made a 1:163 plastic model of the steamboat Robert E. Lee.  Since the original was close to 300' (high 200's, but I don't have it memorized), what might seem a 'small scale' has about a 21" hull - nice sized for a model.  There is a detailed build (with some 'busts') of this kit on MSW for you to review, and also a laser-cut main deck available from HIS models (a Czech company I've used a couple of times).  Additionally, there is a 1970s Scientific model in wood at the same scale (I have both kits in my stash) with printed decks (saves the trouble of planking) included, plus a mahogany finished base for the project.  There is a contemporary kit that's around 1:130 - much bigger and costs more.  There's a build log of that on MSW).