HMS Beagle by brunnels - OcCre - 1:60 - first build

Hello all, I got a start on my first wooden ship model over the weekend.  I have had a great time so far, with a few frustrating moments created by myself, an injury at the dockyard and a realization I am terrible at small scale painting. 

I do have some modelling experience, I built quite a few plastic model airplanes, cars, and military equipment in my youth so I do know some techniques but it has been 20 years since my last model, and as I have found out wood is a completely different animal.

I do have some questions on the paint colors, other than the picture on the box it doesn't seem like there is any guide in the instructions on what color parts should be painted.  I bought a paint kit for HMS beagle from Model Expo, but I'm just not sure what colors should be used for, I could definitely use a hand explaining some of these colors I have never heard of. 

I'm still learning sailing/ship terminology so please be patient If I name something incorrect. 

Anyways here is my start on the HMS Beagle log.  

Here are the colors that came in my kit, any help on these would greatly be appreciated.

image.png.aec444459ef9d34a048da2a6581475e0.png

Here is the assembly of the skeleton of the ship, nothing much to look at yet just lots of glue and making sure pieces are squared away. 

1.jpg.3a75921389d27e4fd5ab4685ba5309e3.jpg2.jpg.821fa5eae8b051ace98044e285f9891e.jpg

3.jpg.d02dab4b9fedaecfc91d05123b718596.jpg

Once I had the frame glued together my next step was to start planking the deck. I used a pencil to line the boards, and then lined them at 60mm and added nails.  I know the pencil caulking and nails are controversial, but I wanted to try the process out for myself and see how it looked.  Veterans of this kit will notice a mistake I made at this point, I still wouldn't notice it for another night.

image.jpeg.dab773ecbf5d7f36e7a39ca8c79ab580.jpeg

image.jpeg.492660f2cb8d6a4d94589bc4a3a424fb.jpeg