Airbrush recommendation for newbie sprayer.

I'm about to get hired to build a plastic steel navy battleship model but I have not built in plastic in ages and I have NEVER used an airbrush and I have no background or experience with airbrushes or the paint to use in them. I am sure there has been discussion about this topic prior to this post so forgive me. But I would love to hear the opinions of those of you who use airbrushes and build in plastic and hear your recommendations for a suitable machine. what I am really asking for is three recommendations since I will need to select the brush itself, a compressor and suitable paint for the job. I'm certain I don't want a top-of-the-line machine since I know they can cost hundreds of dollars. So I guess what I am asking is what can I get away with and still have decent results? Thanks in advance for any tips you can pass along. 

Niagara USS Constitution 

The ship I will build is the Trumpeter 1/350 scale Hood with its associated photo etch set. My plan is to build the 1/426 Revell Arizona first as a dry run- its been a while since I built a plastic kit and I happen to have an old photo etch set that was intended to convert the Revell Arizona into a later war Pennsylvania. So I will go to school on photo etch conversion and airbrush painting on the cheaper kit then move on to the stately Hood.

Niagara USS Constitution 

A good airbrush should run between $100 and $200. Best bet is to look in to your local hobby shop and see which brands they support. You're going to want a double action brush, as you have greater control over the paint/air flow than on a single action brush (which acts more like a rattle can).

When you get set up, before you even approach your test model, practice on a few pieces of cardboard, or other scrap. Try to get the paint to a nice even coverage with no thin spots or weeps.

Airbrushing really is not that hard to do, it just takes practice to do it well. Good luck :)

Andy