Cofused newbie here. Nails or glue?

Ahoy all. I'm brand-new to wooden ship modeling. In fact, I'm waiting for my first kit and tools to arrive. I also have a few plastic kits in my build queue before I start on it. One is Revell's 1/96 USS Constitution which I bought to help hone a few rigging skills before doing a wooden ship. The kit I selected is Model Shipways' Niagara. I figured that my woodbuilding experience in R/C planes and boats would allow me to begin my journey with an intermediate-level kit. After watching videos and reading tutorials my major burning question is this: Are nails used in planking or glue? I've seen both used in tutorial, primers, and videos. Is there a preferred method? Are the nails just to let the glue set? I've seen carpenter wood glue, CA, and nails used. I was anticipating nailing when I ordered the kit, so I also ordered a nailer with my tool set (Excel Deluxe Ship Modeler's Kit). I understand the math and geometry of planking, and the bending techniques, I just need the fog cleared on the method of attaching the planks. Thanks!

"Any officer can get by on his sergeant. To be a sergeant you really have to know your stuff. I'd rather be an outstanding sergeant than just another officer." - SgtMaj Daniel J. Daly, USMC, 1921.

:piratebo5:Tom  :piratebo5:

Current Builds:

1. Revell's 1/96 USS Constitution 

2. Model Shipways 1/64 Niagara 

welcome "sgtski" (have you got a more manageable name)! As far as nails v glue is concerned, If your model has two layers of planking, the you can use fine brass nails and wood glue on the first layer, but leave the heads proud for later removal, then glue only on the second layer. This is just my personal opinion of course! All the best, Geoff

Yeah it's a mish mash of different ways folks build,   when folks use slower glue the small nails can help hold a plank till the glue has set.

CA can set fast but you can't really un-do it later.

I generally use a CA Gel as it sets fast and does not run.