how to determine the correct number of frames on scratchbuilt ship (Moved by moderator)

I am wanting to build a scratch built ship and woul like to know how to determine the correct number of frames I would need to make. I have the sheer half bredth and body plans but I know that those will not be enough as I would like to leave one side so I could show the interior of the ship. I am new to this form but havebeen building ship for a fe years mostly POB and kits. Woulld like to build the next one like it was orginally build any help with drawing the frames and determining how many would be a great help. Thank you. 

Well I would say the more frames the more accurate the hull will be. In warships the frames were heavy and only a few inches apart. In say a fishing boat maybe a foot apart. One thing you could do would be to show false frames where you intend to show them through the planking. I've seen example models on this forum where the modeler has blocked in between every frame to ensure a fair hull.   BILL

Bill, in Idaho

Completed Mamoli Halifax and Billings Viking ship in 2015

Next  Model Shipways Syren

Well I would say the more frames the more accurate the hull will be. I've seen example models on this forum where the modeler has blocked in between every frame to ensure a fair hull.   BILL

I have done this somewhat with the Utrecht. I took the main frames and they were to far apart so added some more and now all of them are 26 mm apart. I may just add some more where the bow is or make it a solid bow.

Like Bill said, you decide. There is no exact way.

Marc

Current Built: Zeehaen 1639, Dutch Fluit from Dutch explorer Abel J. Tasman

Unofficial motto of the VOC: "God is good, but trade is better"

Many people believe that Captain J. Cook discovered Australia in 1770. They tend to forget that Dutch mariner Willem Janszoon landed on Australia’s northern coast in 1606. Cook never even sighted the coast of Western Australia).

Greetings Budad,