Another rookie question - Can I Clean Up the Keel With A Dremel

Sorry for all the entry level stuff guys. You must get sick of it after awhile. Can I use a Dremel tool to clean up the keel rather then a chisel? I have never used chisels before and not too keen on using one... I plan to use a drum sander as well as one of these....

http://www.dremel.com/en-us/Accessories/Pages/ProductDetail.aspx?pid=512E

Of course I will do the planing of the lower keel first. Just trying to learn the ropes so to speak. UGGH the ropes. I have NO experience with knots. I am definitely in trouble there aren't I?

Current/But Not immediate Build Logs

I am still gathering the tools I need but starting preliminary work. Nothing to show just yet.

Fair American

Armed Virginia Sloop.

I would suggest a test of the tool and your skill on a scrap piece so you can determine if it is adequate for you.

Might take some practice/ multiple attempts before you can decide.

Alan O'Neill
"only dead fish go with the flow"   :dancetl6:

Ongoing Build (31 Dec 2013) - HMS BELLEROPHON (1786), POF scratch build, scale 1:64, 74 gun 3rd rate Man of War, Arrogant Class

Member of the Model Shipwrights of Niagara, Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada (2016), and the Nautical Research Guild (since 2014)

Associate member of the Nautical Research and Model Ship Society (2021)

Offshore member of The Society of Model Shipwrights (2021)

Try the chisel and knife - on some scrap first - the chisel and knife are easily controlled and will be needed constantly through your modeling and while power tools are great and I use them a lot,  the Dremel can be a very aggressive cutter and can get away from you and can ruin a piece of work very fast.  Try both methods on scrap and then go with the one that works best for you.

Kurt

Kurt Van Dahm

Director

NAUTICAL RESEARCH GUILD

www.thenrg.org

SAY NO TO PIRACY. SUPPORT ORIGINAL IDEAS AND MANUFACTURERS

CLUBS

Nautical Research & Model Ship Society of Chicago