Bluenose by DBorgens - FINISHED - Model Shipways - 1:64 - first build

Restarting my Bluenose log.

Since this is my first build, I am writing to share the many things I learn along the way and perhaps some of the solutions I have found. I started about four years ago and am getting closer to stepping the masts and starting rigging. I used Bob Hunt’s practicum, which was invaluable while getting started. This is how she looks today.

post-993-0-82675700-1365914604_thumb.jpg

I originally planned to display bluenose with sails furled. The photo shows two attempts at the sails. The fore sail was made form kit fabric cut down to ½ the full sail size. It is still too heavy and far out of scale. The main sail is sillkspan, which looks better to scale. This sail was a quick fit for comparison. The silkspan looked good but it helped me change my mind and build her under full sail. After all, massive sail area is one thing that makes these fishing schooners so lovely. So I got to hone my sewing skills making a second set of sails. This is all part of the fun, we get to use so many different skills.

post-993-0-71628700-1365914760_thumb.jpg

Some photos from the original log.

June 2009, completed planking. Photo shows frame bracing, not in the plan but I was afraid of damaging frames when fairing the hull. A little stiffness never hurts.

post-993-0-36125500-1365914798_thumb.jpg

December 2010, pintles and gudgeons. The plans show forming the gudgeon out of brass strip. I could not make it work well so I soldered some brass tubing instead. Much easier.

post-993-0-97319800-1365914825_thumb.jpg

January 2011, most of the deck furniture is installed.

post-993-0-84280700-1365914857_thumb.jpg

post-993-0-69223900-1365914890_thumb.jpg

December 2011, masts and spars made while learning how to solder.

post-993-0-43051100-1365914920_thumb.jpg

post-993-0-44194100-1365914937_thumb.jpg

Current build: HMS Pegasus, English Pinnace (on hold)

Completed build: MS BluenoseSkippercraft