HM Cutter Alert by prototypep3 - Vanguard Models - 1/64th scale

Hi all, so starting off the build I'd like to say this is my very first build to go with. Some of you may have read my introduction post in the new members section and I said I had chosen a mamoli kit, well the kit was incomplete and was sent back. Long story short I saw James H's review of the alert kit and his statement about if you had a bit of an engineers mind it's not a bad first kit. And so here we are, any suggestions or tips are most welcome along the way as well as corrections on incorrect terminology.

To start things off I did a complete inventory, numbered all the parts and started dry fitting the bulkheads to the false keel. (and no my kitchen bench is not my final workspace, this was done late at night and I was a tad over excited to start)

Resized_20200131_211311.jpeg

Resized_20200131_211324.jpeg

Edited by prototypep3
Title wasn't correct, read the guide after posting.

So have a few updates to make, the first of which was gluing down the bulkheads 3-8

20200201_134937.thumb.jpg.9f1aba912279678b1df5dc4d07e0614d.jpg

Here is the false deck being glued into place aswell

20200201_141225.thumb.jpg.b2f1350532ab0a2489de963b6f8cd0be.jpg

Here we have the deck support beams being dry fitted with the bow supports glued and shaped.20200202_225349.thumb.jpg.9363c03cc365c1d0ea61c9fc9e383726.jpg

And finally the deck supports are glued in place20200202_225326.thumb.jpg.732ea08229808f9696526356f8b908b8.jpg

Now for the part where I'm not so sure about how to continue. As I've seen from other members' builds of this kit they added a bearding line and the instructions indicate to sand certain areas of the rudder post and false keel, having the non keyed rudder post I'm unclear of where to sand. Time for more research on this matter.

You might want to take a look at this post: