Benjamin W Latham by B-Ram - Model Shipways - Scale 1:48

Hello everyone.

I have just ordered the Model Shipways Benjamin Latham. This will be my first wooden ship build, I have been modeling most all of my life and for the past 20 years I have been building scale R/C aircraft. The airplanes have ranged in size from 27" to 90" wing spans. The airplanes have been from short kits to full scratch built from plans. I have spent quite a bit of time researching information about wooden ship building (the do's and don'ts). Also there several very good builds on this site. The Model Shipways information says that prior building experience is helpful, we'll see what they mean by "helpful". Non-the-less, I have always liked to challenge my skills. For the present time, I am going to be gathering as much information as I can. I am really looking forward to getting started. This is something that I have wanted to do for a long time. If you have any thoughts that you would like to share ( even if you think I have lost my mind or bitten off more then I can chew) please feel free to comment.

Thanks,

Bill

Hi Bill and welcome to Model Ship World.  I am glad that you have started a build log for your Benjamin Latham model.  There are several build log of this ship on MSW that you can refer to while building your model.  Just click on the tag "benjamin w latham" under your title above and it will bring up all of the Benjamin Latham builds on MSW.  With your experience on building R/C aircraft, you should have no problems building your Latham.

Ryland

Member - Hampton Roads Ship Model Society

- Ship Model Society of New Jersey

- Nautical Research Guild

Current Build - Armed Virginia Sloop, 18th Century Longboat

Completed Build - Medway Longboat

Hello Ryland,