What kind of putty works filling in hull depressions?

I'm a newbie working on a 1850 Swift Pilot Boat.  I'm about ready to do the second planking.  The first is not terrible but there are some places that need evening out or smoothing the transition between the hull and the bulwarks.  I've looked at all the finished models of this kit and several have used putty for this purpose.  I've read ahead in this section about a year but didn't see anything specifically on this topic.  Any recommendations?

Wood putty from your local hardware store would be fine. Just be sure that your gaps are not to big as your want to glue your second planking to wood and not putty which does not have the holding strength. Also sand well so you have a smooth surface without bumps or ridges.

Richard

Completed scratch build: The armed brig "Badger" 1777

Current scratch build: The 36 gun frigate "Unite" 1796

Completed kits: Mamoli "Alert", Caldercraft "Sherbourne"

From an outsider and theoretical perspective:

What is the need to fill the gaps between planking with anything for the first layer of a two layer POB hull?  The entirety is covered by the second layer.

If the problem is hollows between the molds - PVA glue a scab layer of wood veneer at the hollow.

Pine or Basswood should be soft enough not to resist paring more than the actual first layer.

For really shallow dips, a curl of Pine made using a plane should be a proper thickness.

Edited by Jaager

NRG member 45 years

Current:  

HMS Centurion 1732 - 60-gun 4th rate - Navall Timber framing

HMS Beagle 1831 refiit  10-gun brig with a small mizzen - Navall (ish) Timber framing

The U.S. Ex. Ex. 1838-1842
Flying Fish 1838  pilot schooner -  framed - ready for stern timbers
Porpose II  1836  brigantine/brig - framed - ready for hawse and stern timbers
Vincennes  1825  Sloop-of-War  -  timbers assembled, need shaping
Peacock  1828  Sloop-of -War  -  timbers ready for assembly