Grand Banks Dory by bbrennan737 - FINISHED - Model Shipways - 1:24 - First Build

Hi there -  new member and new to the world of wooden model ship building. Like many new builders I have some experience with plastic models, and went to school for aircraft maintenance. But knowing that wood requires an entirely different skill set I wanted to start fresh at the beginning and set myself up for success.

My interest in wood actually started back in the spring: after a visit to the Mystic Seaport Museum's model workshop and a long discussion with a gentleman (I can't remember his name) they had a free raffle for what I believe was a Midwest kit (I remember the signature yellow box, but not which model). I didn't win, but was inspired to get a beginner model anyway. After trying to find the same kit they were giving away I naturally found my way to the Model Expo website and was very pleased to discover their Shipwright Series. I ordered the 3-kit combo and as the cool weather begins I hope to enjoy the journey of developing the skills of this wonderful hobby. 

Beginning with the Dory has been a pleasure so far - glad to report I'm really enjoying it. Started the kit yesterday afternoon and have completed the bottom planks, stem, and transom. I also installed the frames on the building board. 

So far everything looks as though its dried square. I will come back tonight to remove the remaining char and make sure everything had stayed in place. 

IMG_8245.jpeg

Edited by bbrennan737
Changed title to add "finished"

Made some progress tonight - prepped and bent first planks. Pretty straightforward process. Sanded in a bevel and then soaked the planks in hot water for 5min as per the instructions. They bent easily and appeared to fit relatively well. Took some wrestling with some rubber bands and clips to make sure they would stay in place overnight. We'll see in the morning how they dry out. image.thumb.jpeg.62bd17d03ebfa6617a5353cc385e378d.jpeg