I was giving a couple of large pieces of cedar from a guy that cut one down.  He didn't know what kind it was but it appears to be western red cedar.  Nice wood, light tan in color with a mild cedar smell and a fairly fine straight grain with a few small knots.  My question to the forum;  Has anyone used western red cedar in building models?  If so how did it work out?

My advice and comments are always worth what you paid for them.

For at least one response - I have no actual experience with this species of wood.  From the lack of reply, I guess that few have any experience either.  The information that I read in the Wood Database points to it being a poor choice for any part of an actual ship model.  It may make an interesting base.  It may work for making jigs and other support components.

NRG member 45 years

Current:  

HMS Centurion 1732 - 60-gun 4th rate - Navall Timber framing

HMS Beagle 1831 refiit  10-gun brig with a small mizzen - Navall (ish) Timber framing

The U.S. Ex. Ex. 1838-1842
Flying Fish 1838  pilot schooner -  framed - ready for stern timbers
Porpose II  1836  brigantine/brig - framed - ready for hawse and stern timbers
Vincennes  1825  Sloop-of-War  -  timbers assembled, need shaping
Peacock  1828  Sloop-of -War  -  timbers ready for assembly
Sea Gull  1838  pilot schooner -  timbers ready for assembly
Relief  1835  ship - timbers ready for assembly

Other

Portsmouth  1843  Sloop-of-War  -  timbers ready for assembly
Le Commerce de Marseilles  1788   118 cannons - framed

La Renommee 1744 Frigate - framed - ready for hawse and stern timbers

As an indicator of the characteristics the term Cedar is all but useless.   It includes several genus groups and may be more than one family.  Being an aromatic conifer may be all it takes.

NRG member 45 years

Current:  

HMS Centurion 1732 - 60-gun 4th rate - Navall Timber framing

HMS Beagle 1831 refiit  10-gun brig with a small mizzen - Navall (ish) Timber framing

The U.S. Ex. Ex. 1838-1842