Newbie from The Villages Fl

Jeff5115

Hello to everyone. My name is Jeff and I am going to give the hobby a try. Attempted a build many years ago before the internet was even around. It was a POF model and I struggled and made many mistakes. With the internet and so much info available I want to give it a go again.  I want to start out with a basic model so I have chosen a solid hull model so I can ease into planking down the road. I will be building the Model Expo Katy of Norfolk.  It looks like there is not a build log for this model so I am thinking of starting one for this ship.  The Villages is the largest retirement community in the world so besides this forum I am going to see if there are any modelers who live here who could advise me.  I am hoping as a newbie I will be able to get help from the forum as I am sure I will need it. 

Current Build

18th Century Armed Longboat-Model Shipways

Completed Build

Lady Eleanor-Vanguard Models

King of the Mississippi-Artesania Latina

Future Build

Vanguard Models- Alert

Jeff Farber

:piratebo5:welcome to MSW. 

Don't worry you'll definitely get plenty  of help and encouragement here. Enjoy and have fun. 

Edited by Edwardkenway

Current builds;

Henry Ramey Upcher 1:25

Providence whaleboat- 1:25     HMS Winchelsea 1764 1:48 

Completed:

HM Cutter Sherbourne- 1:64- finished    Triton cross section scratch- 1:60 - finished 

Non ship:  SBD-3 Dauntless 1:48 Hasegawa -FINISHED

I just googled it. That's a seriously attractive vessel. And yes, certainly start a build log. You'll find a lot of help from members, as well as a lot of encouragement. You'll still make mistakes - we all do - but you'll also be able to get help in correcting them from people with  lot of experience, who've probably made the same mistakes themselves as they learnt the ropes.

Looking forward to seeing Katy's progress!

Steven

Hi Chris

I am building the current solid-hull version.

Current Build

Completed Build

Future Build