East Coast Oyster Sharpie 1880-1900 by davec - FINISHED - 1/16 scale

I picked the East Coast Oyster Sharpie for my next project using the plans and practicum by Bill Strachan and available from the NRG.  Everything is outlined at https://thenrg.org/genericsharpie.php, and the practicum has tons of pictures.  It is so well illustrated that I will probably limit the build log a little and not include things that are well outlined in the practicum, which is available on the NRG website for free.  The plans are beautiful, the build looks like it won’t take 6 years like my last one did, and it looks like a very different kind of project, which will make a good break.  I’m a little nervous as there are only two logs on MSW, and they both stop fairly early in the build. 

I started back in February with big plans to keep the project moving along, then COVID-19 hit.  I work in health care, so rather than extra time to model at a social distance, work has been completely consuming in terms of patient care and pandemic preparation and management.  I mostly go to the workshop at the end of a long day to decompress.  Working while tired has led to a lot of re-do’s already.  Not sure if late 19th century Sharpie’s had names, but this one will be christened “Corona”.

So far, I’ve made the two building jigs. There have been a few discrepancies between the plans and practicum, and I’m starting to work off the plans with the instructions more as a guide.  Jig 2 went together easily.

2108261154_buildjig2.jpg.154c98ad3fda4d8db0a812d8ccddd964.jpg