I am a beginner and am a little confused.   ...  My kit directions specify using contact cement [super glue ?]  but I find that it dries too fast sooo I am using "wood glue" [yellow glue ] .  When I did the planking on the flat deck, I used the wood glue and clamped the planking.  This seems to work fine. 

Is there any reason that I cannot continue to use "wood glue"????  I let it cure for at least 3 hours.   HELP !!

You most certainly can use wood glue (many do).

I assume that the directions suggest super glue because it may be tricky to get the planks clamped in place while the glue dries. There is no real reason why you can’t use wood glue.

Edited by VTHokiEE

Hi Bob,

White wood glue - Polyvinyl Acetate (PVA eg Titebond) is absolutely fine for deck and hull planking and takes a few minutes to 'grab' giving plenty time for adjustments. It sets hard in about 24 hrs.

Some members occasionally use Super Glue (aka Cyanoacrylate, CA) for quick setting (10 secs?) joints on difficult hull planking, say. Super Glue Gel takes a little longer (30 secs?) to set so gives a little adjustment time. But CA does stick your fingers together!

Contact Adhesive is used for sticking soles on shoes...it has a rubbery texture. I wouldn't use it for model ships.

Here's a very good thread on glues ...   https://modelshipworld.com/topic/1894-glue-recommendations/?tab=comments#comment-43667      

regards,

Richard

I moved this to the correct area and deleted a duplicate post with no responces.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64