Flying Fish by Keithbrad80 - Model Shipways - 1:96

Hello all! 

This is my first time posting any thing here at MSW, I watch a lot of your builds and have really enjoyed my time here. I figured it was time for me to post my own build log and hopefully get this next build as close to perfect as possible. 

I plan to post here as often as I can, maybe once a week, hopefully more, as I only have about an hour a day to work on this. Slow and steady wins the race. The model itself is a beautiful model, I’ve seen completed posts and pictures of the completed build and so I have really been looking forward to this. 

A quick history, the Flying Fish was an extreme clipper designed and built by Donald McKay. Her dimensions were: Wood Ship of 1505 Tons, Length of 198.6, Breadth of 27.1 and depth of 22 feet. She sailed from New York to San Francisco in 92 days which was only three more than her record setting sister ship, the Flying Cloud. 

Cheers, 

Bradley 

Current Builds:

Flying Fish - Model Shipways - 1:96

Future Builds:

Young America 1853 - Scratch Build - 1:72

Completed Builds:

HMS Racehorse - Mantua - 1:47 (No pictures unfortunately)

Providence Whale Boat - Artesania Latina - 1:25 (Also no pictures)

Lowell Grand Banks Dory - Model Shipways - 1:24

Shelved Builds:

Pride of Baltimore 2 - Model Shipways - 1:64 (Also no pictures)

This will be my third Model Shipways build in my life and certainly the largest, I have never once before had any issues with their kits but this time I have already run into issues. I opened the box and did a head count of all my stuff and noticed the second sheet of laser cut keel pieces was really warped. I’ll call them tomorrow and see what they recommend. Other than this issue every thing looks great and was in nice working order, very excited to get started.