NEW MEMBER and new to model ship building

Peter6172

Hi team,

Great to be able to join such an illustrious group of modellers.

I am new to Model Ship building having only ever built one 1/350 scale plastic model FFG (HMAS ADELAIDE) and a submarine (HMAS RANKIN) for my daughter who served in both.

My background is Model Railway predominantly HO but I did dabble in other scales over the years.   I have built over 200 locomotives for clients around the world but very few for myself.

I have finished building PORT JACKSON (Modellers Shipyard) in 1/50 scale as my first and pushed myself by scratch building the sails and associated rigging not included in the kit.

I hope to learn a lot about wooden sailing ships and with a special focus on the rigging and getting it as historically correct as I can.  IN this pursuit I expect to learn a great deal from the significantly more expert modellers in this forum.

11079036_10153119954723911_3502726703135799636_o.jpg

11055261_10153119965528911_6625182126058326907_o.jpg

964031_10151605959663911_1858528676_o.jpg

Edited by Peter6172

Completed:  

PORT JACKSON - 1803 Topsail Schooner 1/50 by Modellers Shipyard

HMB ENDEAVOUR - 1768 Bark 1/64 by Artesania Latina

Under Construction:  

HMAV BOUNTY - 1/60 by Amati

NORFOLK Colonial Sloop- 1/64 Scratchbuild

HMS EURYALUS - 1:48 Scratchbuild POF

Next Project:  

HMS THUNDRER - 1/48 CAF Models/Scratchbuild

Planned:  

HMS SUPPLY - 1/64 Scratchbuild

HMS SIRIUS

Welcome aboard Peter!!  You have thousands of potential teachers here which can be a curse as well as a blessing as experience (and opinions) vary. 😀

Allan

PLEASE take 30 SECONDS and sign up for the epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series.   Click on http://trafalgar.tv   There is no cost other than the 30 seconds of your time.  THANK YOU

Peter, welcome to MSW from the UK. 

🌻

STAY SAFE

A model shipwright and an amateur historian are heads & tails of the same coin