A warm Hello all from Seattle, WA

Wawona59

Hello all,

My name is John Newcome from Seattle, WA.  I've been an avid modeler for over 50 years.  My modeling interests are  sailing ships and early aircraft.(1900 - 1940).   My primary modeling interest is sailing ships.  (if it has a mast, yard and sail, I'm in)

As a kid in the early 70's I built a number of sailing ships including the Revell 1:96 Constitution,  Thermopylae and Cutty Sark, the Aurora Whaling ship Wanderer.  Even as a 13 year old, I tied my own ratlines and made cloth sails (not very well though).  Once I made cloth sails out of a white cloth bed sheet I found in the closet.  (Mom was not pleased to say the least).

Several years ago, after the usual College-Career-marriage-kids experience, I returned to modeling.  I've built a number of aircraft models that have been periodically displayed at the Seattle Museum of Flight.  I'm now returning to my REAL modeling passion of sailing ships.  One of my goals is to build a model of the Lumber Schooner Wawona (hence my username).  She was a fixture on the south shore of Lake Union for decades until she was broken up a few years ago.  I toured her as a kid and took my children on her when they were little.

Even though I've studied sailing ships in the past and have a small library of reference materials, I'm going to start small.  I'm going to build the Model Shipways Phantom that I inherited several years ago as a partially started kit.  I will use Chuck Pacaro's practicum as a guide.  Over the years, I've inherited other partially built ship models from deceased friends.  My next project will be to finish the Corel Golden Hind model I inherited.  I also inherited a wooden hull of the Model Shipways Sultana.  I want to use a set of Model Shipways plans to complete the Sultana as my introduction to scratch building.

Many projects and dreams ahead.  I'm looking forward to participating in this forum.

Thank you

John Newcome, Wawona59

Wawona 59

John