Hi All

Does anyone know what colour bricks would have been used in a ships hearth?  For some reason I can't help but think that they would have been made from grey clay. I see many ships with red bricks in the hearth so I could be completely wrong.  

Your thoughts would be appreciated

Mark

There is such a thing a 'fire brick' (or refractory brick), and they can be anything from a light ocher (tan) to a light orange-red ... but that is what I've seen in 'recent' times.  What was used in olden days could have been (I'm not an expert) hot-fired brick, or those nearer to the inside of the pile of bricks built up for firing.  The color varied with the clay. The bricks on the outside (per the traditional brick makers in Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia) did not get as hot - so were softer.  These were used inside brick structures (having thick walls), with the more resilient bricks on the outside facing the weather.  The bricks with somewhat 'charred' (darker) ends were utilized in a 'Flemish bond', that gave a decorative look to an exterior wall.  Since hot fired bricks were used to make 'beehive' ovens - that could have an access opening on one side of a 'walk in' or 'open' hearth, or they could be an outside structure near the kitchen, but not attached, and advantage in hot weather.

Completed builds:  Khufu Solar Barge - 1:72 Woody Joe

Current project(s): Gorch Fock restoration 1:100, Billing Wasa (bust) - 1:100 Billings, Great Harry (bust) 1:88 ex. Sergal 1:65

What ship?

Once iron stoves came into general use around 1757, the hearth was made of iron.

“Indecision may or may not be my problem.”
― Jimmy Buffett

Current builds:    Rattlesnake (Scratch From MS Plans 

On Hold:  HMS Resolution ( AKA Ferrett )

In the Gallery: Yacht Mary,  Gretel, French Cannon

1 hour ago, Gregory said:

What ship?

Once iron stoves came into general use around 1757, the hearth was made of iron.