How to "unstick" this chuck from the mill spindle?

Go to solution Solved by Dziadeczek,

Hello all,

Today I had the opportunity to buy a used Sherline lathe and mill, so I did.

I have no prior experience with them so I am reading the online manual from the Sherline website, and trying to familiarize myself with the basic nomenclature and basic operation of these machines.  From what I have learned so far, they are somewhat older machines, (probably pre 1999) but still model 4000 for the lathe, and 5000 for the mill.

I have one roadblock immediately.  The jacobs chuck is stuck in the mill spindle--

IMG_3367.thumb.jpg.e83df11b697d32a0b9c06d80d85cd13a.jpg  

Am I right that this should be just a friction fit?   What is the best way to loosen/remove this?   I ask this knowing that some may be thinking "if he can't do this, these machines are wasted on him".

Any advice is appreciated.

Ron

Edited by rlb

Hi Ron, I have a Sherline mill also.  That chuck usually comes with a draw bar (threaded on one end and a bolt type head) that you put in from the top of the spindle assembly.  I partially engage the thread of the draw bar into the chuck bore, give it a tap or two with a small rubber mallet (small hammer will work also) which usually disengages the tapered (morse) chuck head.  If you don't have the draw bar, putting a metal rod of suitable OD down into the spindle bore and tapping that should also work, BUT put a rag or something under the chuck so that if it dislodges completely, it will fall onto a padded surface and not damage the cross-table or the chuck etc.  The rod could be one of the many different bars/rods provided by Sherline, but should be a smaller OD than the bore, but bigger than the internally threaded bore in the top of the chuck (so that you don't drive the bar into this and damage the thread).

I hope that resolves the issue for you.

cheers

Pat

Edited by BANYAN

If at first you do not suceed, try, and then try again!