City of Pekin by Papa - FINISHED - Model Shipways - 1:96 - Yellow Box kit

I started this kit a while ago and have postponed starting a build log for no particular reason. I am a professional procrastinator.

This is a very old kit with minimal parts.  A machine carved hull; some blocks of wood for the deck cabins, some strip wood; and various white metal castings. There are 2 sheets of plans. One for the original tow barge and a second set showing the conversion to steam power.

When I took the contents photo I had already started to lay out some reference lines on the deck.

Some observations:

1. I discovered that the blocks for the deck houses were sized totally different from the plans.  I planned to scratch build these anyway

2. The strip wood were of sizes that were way off scale for their required application.

3. The bow shape did not agree with the plans; hence all the plastic wood.

As in all solid hull kits I've seen, the bulwarks are oversized by design and have to be shaved down to the proper thickness.

The kit included scribed sheetwood for the decking but i decided to lay individual planks with 1/32x1/32 stripwood. Initially I varnished the deck and then later decided to paint it deck grey.

After installing the decking one has to cut a bazillion little notches in the bulwarks.

Most recently I test fit her on a walnut base.

At this stage I installed the rudder.  This was a bit of an issue.  The casting included had no resemblance to the rudder in the plans.  Also, the drawing was too small to really understand what the rudder actually looked like.  Thanks to Google, I found an archeology study of some sunken barges of the same period as the CoP that had a good drawing of a typical rudder.  I scratch built a reasonable copy for my CoP.  I also had to scratch build 2 props as these were not provided in the kit. The result is passable, but they are not very visible anyway.

Next step is to start making the deck houses.