Good morning from Iowa, USA.

Hey all, I have an old decorative galleon (I think it is "inspired" by a galleon, proportions seem a like wonky) that my parents are handing down to me for my first house. It's in pretty rough shape and I have very little modeling experience outside of the occasional 1/35 car kits.

From my perspective, this looks like one heck of a project; the sails are brittle and covered in grime, the paint is wearing thin, and a few of the masts appear to just hang there. If I could restore it to just half of its former glory I may become addicted. My questions are: What exactly is this thing? Is it feasible to restore it myself? And if so where should I start?

Thanks in advance, I've always loved motorboats and sailing and I feel myself slipping into a new obsession.

AFD2F1BB-C0BB-418A-A5C4-D36CB1202F76.jpeg

F77C5679-0A03-4162-8C81-9DC4C9E452BB.jpeg

Hello, ClapTrap.

Well, the place to start is actually here, but since you've already framed the question, we'll have a go at it. Your ship is what we call a decor model, and you're right -- it only bears the vaguest resemblance to an actual galleon. As a model, it has essentially zero value, but as an heirloom it might at least have some sentimental value. Restoring it would entail removing the excess grime and reattaching the loose masting and rigging. Since the rig doesn't follow any actual practice, the best way to figure out what goes where is to examine the bits that are still attached -- the loose bits were probably attached in much the same way. And since it's not really a model but rather an artistic impression of a galleon, you can't do too much harm to it if you don't get the rigging done exactly the same as when the item was new.

If you do, in fact, end up slipping into a new obsession, have a look around the forum at what first-time builders are working on. This is a great and potentially very rewarding hobby if you get off to the right start.

Cheers!

Chris Coyle