Seaman Recruit taking ship

Hello everyone!

As my screen name suggests, my name is André, and I am from sunny South Africa.

Whilst thinking about a title for my introductory post, I stumbled upon an article which outlined the U.S Navy ranks. Applicably, I immediately identified with the lowest rank, Seaman Recruit, which is characterised as the following:

SR is the first enlisted rank upon entering the Navy and is considered an “apprentice in training.”

Apprentice in training being the key take away as I seek to learn about this wonderful craft, and to draw upon the wealth of knowledge from users on this awesome site - as I am new to this hobby (discounting a few plastic aircraft models I built in my youth).

I have been lurking around this site for a few months whilst doing research on tools, techniques, kits etc. and I finally settled upon AL's HMS Endeavour's Longboat as my first kit, of which I will begin a build log soon.

Glad to be aboard, and will see you around.

Stay safe!

:piratebo5:

:sign:

Regards, Patrick

Finished :  Soleil Royal Heller 1/100   Wasa Billing Boats   Bounty Revell 1/110 plastic (semi scratch)   Pelican / Golden Hind  1/45 scratch

Current build :  Mary Rose 1/50 scratch

Gallery Revell Bounty  Pelican/Golden hind 1/45 scratch

To do Prins Willem Corel, Le Tonnant Corel, Yacht d'Oro Corel, Thermopylae Sergal 

Shore leave,  non ship models build logs :  

ADGZ M35 funkwagen 1/72    Einhets Pkw. Kfz.2 and 4 1/72   Autoblinda AB40 1/72   122mm A-19 & 152mm ML-20 & 12.8cm Pak.44 {K8 1/2} 1/72   10.5cm Howitzer 16 on Mark. VI(e)  Centurion Mk.1 conversion   M29 Weasel 1/72     SAM6 1/72    T26 Finland  T26 TN 1/72  Autoprotetto S37 1/72     Opel Blitz buses 1/72  Boxer and MAN trucks 1/72   Hetzer38(t) Starr 1/72    

Si vis pacem, para bellum

Welcome to MSW, Andre.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build: