P-51 B/C by Egilman - FINISHED - Revell - 1/32nd scale - Rub n Buff finish test build; Experiment Completed

Ok my friends... Not going to go into a lot about this airplane.. It is my first attempt to build a Bare Metal Bird using the techniques needed for applying Rub n Buff... I've posted pics of what this material can do for simulated Bare Metal finishes on aircraft models here, and it looks spectacular when done...

The aircraft I'm going to be modeling is P-51B-10 42-106638 - 376FS, 361FG, 8AF, it wore the unit designations codes E9-R named "Impatient Virgin" & E9-B named "EVOI" (with malcom hood conversion) I will be attempting to do her as Impatient Virgin... (I ordered the decals for it) She crashed during the war in a farmers field and was buried as unsalvageable... She was recovered sometime in 2007 and restored... This is what she looks like today...

23635800628_150cfbc0af_o.thumb.jpg.f2e9452789bbcd9e9e0090362e4b524b.jpg010.jpg.79c3f5f01b21bda6e1ff29c085f31a3f.jpgscreenshot_20.png.6c00b4154efaecaa42a40789b0cf04c4.png46000700155_bac63f70db_o.thumb.jpg.c37eb9661887f55bfb1e87f0f2f1cb5e.jpg

This is a fairly decent representation of her aside from her Malcom Hood conversion it looks like the same aircraft... Unfortunately this is close to what she looked like in WWII but not really...

She is painted in aluminum paint.... During WWII she was a typical bare metal fuselage, Olive Drab horizontal top surfaces & anti-glare panel.... She did have invasion stripes but they did not rise above the national insignia nor cross the top of the wing... The bottom of the wing was painted aluminum....  And of course the Nose was insignia yellow... A very nice combination of colors...

Here are some images of her in WWII...

media-29365.thumb.png.ca3c9ba0036a6e23d3fba8e32a640e6b.png

media-29366.thumb.png.6e4fdb5cfddfb39b30eb7618d3f887e4.png2da814a223fb22c36b06fce2e53a7917.jpg.9436d6edf12bfda05eda579b07ebd866.jpgmedia-24749.jpeg.69ddeffc73037010a739f4701d2f4d32.jpeg