Tramp Steamer by von_bednar - 1/100 scale - 1920s/30s - 3d printed with scratch built elements.

2136225736_SSVenture.webp.36168c4bfdd9cd0fd4939712c5e3f6db.webp

*** INTRO ***

Custom Tramp Steamer inspired by the SS Venture from King Kong

This is my first build log on here and my first nautical model. I come from wargaming hobby and pretty much by accident got interested in model ship making (bit more info about it in my intro post). So, for my first model I decided to go with something that would fit with what I already made for my long-term wargaming project, which is alternative history pulp adventure themed. Tramp Steamers are iconic in pulps and not too difficult to put together, so it was a no-brainer this should be my entry point to this hobby.

After some research I found a 3d printable model of SS Venture from the 2005 version of King Kong and I will be modifying it to fit my needs. Apart from scaling it up (it comes in 1/200 scale "out of the box") I'm changing the shape a bit (making it a little wider and a little shorter) and redoing pretty much everything above the decks (with similar elements, but still). Some of the changes are done to make it fit my 3d printer better, others to accommodate the miniatures better. The plan is to make it a playable "terrain" piece that can also work as a nice display piece. I will be using mainly my wargaming tools and materials, which might not always be perfect for the job (currently using coffee stirrers for wood planks for example), but I'm hoping this will be enough for now. We'll see how well that works out 🤞