Chapman Frigate by bucknbarney - RADIO - Plank on Frame

I am new to wooden model ship building. I am a carpenter by trade so I have decided to finally attempt the build I have dreamed of building since I was a young boy, obsessed with Old Ironsides.

I wanted to have the ability to make a ship that I can actually sail using R/C. While researching online, I found that it would be best to use plans for a plank on frame instead of a plank on bulkhead build. After a little searching, I found plans for the keel and ribs of a Chapman frigate. The plans are in a different language, and were a little too blurry to read anyhow, so I am having to guess on size and proportions. I know that this model won't be perfect, and far from museum quality. For this project, I just want it to look the part and sail well when on the water!

I had the print shop print the plans so that my build will be about four feet long.

Aside from my lack of being able to decipher what writing there is on the plans, I have been able to find no instructions to help, so I am doing as much research as possible, using a little common sense and hopefully getting a lot of help from people in the know i.e. all of you!...

- After having the plans printed out, I am using carbon paper to transfer the plans to 1/4" birch plywood.

- Using a scroll saw, I am cutting out the transferred plans.

- I am using files and sand paper to finish the cut pieces.

-

post-10510-0-19406000-1391402864_thumb.jpg

Edited by bucknbarney

Jerrod,

Do a search on this forum with the word RADIO.  Sort by title.  You should see all the RC builds.  There's also a sub-forum for RC questions, etc. in general.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section