Welcome to Model Ship World
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Byrnes Drawplate

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

Landlocked123

Landlocked123
  • Members
  • 372 posts
  • LocationThe Nutmeg State
Hi All,

Santa was good enough to bring me a Byrnes Drawplate :).

I've never used a Drawplate before and would appreciate any tips and pointers. Thanks.

Best,
John
  • mtaylor, jablackwell, thibaultron and 1 other like this
Member:
Connecticut Marine Model Society
Nautical Research Guild

russ

russ

Special Contributor

• SPECIAL CONTRIBUTOR
  • 2,691 posts
  • LocationBiloxi, Mississippi

I have a Byrnes draw plate and it is the best one I have. It has a great cutting edge at each hole. It is easy to use and I would not trade it for anything.

Insert the material into the side opposite the countersink and then pull it through from the countersunk side of the hole. You can use pliers to hold on to the end while you draw it through. I use my thumb and forefinger, but others use pliers.

You can clamp it to your desk or table, but I have never done that. I hold it in my hand as I work. I can usually get a 5-6 inch length on each piece if I want them that long.

Make sure you have a piece that is not too large for the hole. I draw my bamboo through the same hole several times, angling it differently with each successive pass to ensure I am ready to move to the next hole. Be patient and do not try and work too fast. The faster you go, the more breakage you will have. Also, the more practice you have, the easier it will be to use.

You should experiment with it to see what approach works best for you. Have fun.

Russ