18th Century Longboat by PAnderson - FINISHED - Model Shipways

Hello Everyone,

This is my first build of a wood ship, although this is not a ship, in over 20 years. Gearing up and re-training myself for the bigger ones, I decided to start here. I spent the last year building a dollhouse for my Granddaughters and promised myself I would  not start another kit until this was done. Well, it is finished. I would like to thank everyone on this forum for providing such a great place to learn and I now hope to contribute to this great site.

I have built this up to the point of putting the keel, false keel, bulkheads and actually fairing the bulkheads. After watching other builds take place, I have learned a lot and I hope to do it justice. This a great little kit.

Paul

post-719-0-95339100-1443970223_thumb.jpg

post-719-0-17211400-1443970225_thumb.jpg

post-719-0-63772700-1443970226_thumb.jpg

Edited by PAnderson

Looks great!

But I am slightly worried about the way it is clamped into the vice - one accidental bump - and the keel will crack :(

It is very handy to clamp it upside down, just glue some scrap wood to the "rails" that you already have, the one that hold the frames together

• 3 weeks later...

Thanks for the comments so far. The boat was only held in the vise for picture taking. First, let me apologize for not keeping a more in depth build log. I get wrapped up in the building and forget to actually take pictures. I have made some progress and the boat is planked. I made a few mistakes, such as not beveling all of the planks, and it shows. That's why i picked this kit first. Also, one other more serious problem was that I had a couple of planks near the bow come out really thin after sanding. Chuck's instructions said the planking on this kit was tricky, and it is. More so than I would have thought. Other than that, i think it is coming along pretty good.

post-719-0-76366900-1445786500_thumb.jpg

post-719-0-53326700-1445786503_thumb.jpg