New Member in New Zealand/Australia

StuC

Hi All,

I'm a mechanical engineer and live in New Zealand, but work extended rosters in the mining industry in Western Australia. I normally work 3 weeks on, 1 week off and do project work which means anything from 6 months to 3 or more years on a project. With COVID-19 preventing me from flying home now for a couple of months, I need something to occupy my time in the evenings and days off.

I've done some modelling before - many ubiquitous balsa planes, an RC plane that had a single flight that ended in 1 very short and sharp landing (it was 20 years ago, but it's still quite raw), but mostly larger scale WW2 RC ships with medium detail, but again, that was years ago too. I was also quite active in Australia model warship combat (1/144 scale) until about 2007 and built very reliable ships that I kept looking very clean. Here's a photo of the USS Artemis I built in New Zealand years ago in 1/96 scale, and is in a state of semi disrepair here. It was armed with a single rotating cannon in the stern.

I really enjoyed the hobby. It was a good mix of modelling and engineering, and I fabricated brackets and set up the pneumatic systems for the CO2 powered cannons. What made an effective ship was thought in design, good execution and reliability above everything else. My ships were reliable. I understand scale modellers sometimes frown on warship combat, but I liked it. Having said that, I probably enjoyed building them more than battling, and I always put more detail on my ships than others.

1571388768_AArtemis0040.jpg.d4706eff98f0e9da394c5fc18bf71a8d.jpg

712668153_AArtemis0050.jpg.02c1a7f3840c96bde5fc1f3d9cb856fb.jpg