Copper plating versus not......Old Topic..., but looking for current thoughts.

Starting the second planking of my Speedy build. After that, copper plating is close. I've only coppered one ship (Pickle). and I just didn't like the look of it. I much prefer the unpainted wooden ship. I even mix woods a little for contrast. Another thing...I try to do my best (still a ways to go) on the second planking and to copper over most of your efforts is a bit of a downer. Finally, most of my hull will be planked with pear wood....a beautiful wood....why cover that up? But not coppering doesn't present a real ship of that period.

What are current thoughts from the group?

Then he said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath”.

Bigcreekdad:

I am new to ship modeling and new to this forum, but questions like yours are common to all hobbies once you go deep into them. 

I have been a philatelists for many years, even got a price at New York’s World Stamp Show in 2016, but I decided to stop exhibiting because I was tired of complying with rules set by the establishment. Rules that in my opinion were absurd or constrained my desire, taste and way of setting an exhibit.

I wanted to do something different, Something new, but if you did so, then you could not exhibit or your exhibit get a low mark.

And in this forum I have found the same thing. Which is not good or bad, it is just the way forums like this are. Just take a look at my build log. This is the latest recommendation I got by someone telling me I built my model incorrectly:

“I would put this model aside and do something simpler, but correctly and efficiently“.

For sure he is right, but not having an exact replica of the real vessel is wrong?

Or keep building a model with an error is wrong?

In my opinion, by no means!!! My build is surpassing my own expectations and that’s the only thing matters for me.