Flying Fish by Jared - Model Shipways - 1:96

Hi.  I am new to Model Ship World.  I began building the Flying Fish in early 2006 and worked on it slowly over the next 6 years.  And there is remained gathering dust until this month, when I decided to pick it up again in hope of taking it to completion.  As can be seen in the photos I will be adding, the Hull has been completed and the deck structure are at an advanced state of completion.  I look forward to meeting others of you who are also working on this model.  

Jared

Flying Fish.jpeg

Hello! There are a few others working on this kit, although I think we are all mostly behind you at the moment. @Keithbrad80 has a log, as do I. Welcome to the forum!

Current Builds: Bluejacket USS KearsargeRRS Discovery 1:72 scratch

Completed Builds: Model Shipways 1:96 Flying Fish | Model Shipways 1:64 US Brig Niagara | Model Shipways 1:64 Pride of Baltimore II (modified) | Midwest Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack | Heller 1:150 Passat | Revell 1:96 USS Constitution

Although I began this build 15 years ago, I took a lot of photos and notes of the work in progress so recreating a log here should be fairly straight forward.  I will begin today with the initial assembly of the keel and bulkheads.  In my building of the Flying Fish, I have followed the instructions provided by Model Shipways in the manual and drawing sheets as best I could, and referred to various books and other resources for additional information on techniques and design as needed.  With respect to the assembly of the keel and bulkheads, the  most important important thing was making sure the keel was straight and the bulkheads were squared.  For the latter I used mini bar clamps and L Shape 90 degree try square rulers as shown in some of the photos below.  I then beveled the bulkheads using a hobby knife and various sanding tools, some which I made.  I reinforced a number of the joints with square shaped pieces of wood as shown in the last 2 photos below.