Ahoy! From Western Canada

Greetings from Western Canada. I'm new to wooden ships, but have built plastic models most of my life. 

For some reason I've been seeing Billing Boats kits for years, here and there. Probably because I'm Danish/Norwegian heritage. So I opted to start there. After spending some time reading varies forums, I see that Billings Boats isn't a favored choice for kits, especially for new modelers. It sounds like their instructions assume you know a fair amount, and have experience. In my defense, the kit I purchased as my starter I got for a steal of a deal - $10 USD. Also it's Billings' beginning level Danish fishing boat 'Dana'. 1:50 scale. With it's ABS hull I figure it's probably a good way to start. 

Currently, I'm starting slow. Doing a lot of reading, and enjoying other people's builds. I need to acquire some tools and supplies. 

My long term goal that I've had for a very long time, was to build a nice Viking longship. Probably a kit like the Oseberg 1:25 scale. I realize that's way too much for someone starting out to handle, and not a kit I can afford to buy until I know I'm serious & ready to build one. But since I have a strong interest in Viking ships I've also picked up a copy of the Billing Boats 'Roar Ege' ship model. I'm quite interested in the fact it's based on a modern Viking ship built as part of the study of the Skuldelev Viking ship finds. It'll probably be my first attempt at a kit with hull planking. Maybe. I have to see if I think I'm up to it or have to get a couple under my belt first. It seems to me that the real challenges of model ship building might be the hull planking and sails/rigging. So at least the Roar Ege doesn't have a lot of sails.