hi, I was wondering what the cheapest model kit for practice would be.

LegoKing5522

hi, I am new to building model ships, and I was wondering if you guys could suggest some cheaper kits that I could use for practice. i would like to avoid spending a bunch of money on something nice, because I don't have any practice at all with planking and building the hull etc...

thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Many new builders here have started with the three-model Model Shipways series. There are many build logs for these models as well on this site. 

Each model is also available for sale separately, as are the paints, etc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

In progress: Norwegian Sailing Pram by Model Shipways

Completed: Lowell Grand Banks Dory by Model Shipways

I did the 3 Model Shipways kits since I had no experience with wooden models, built many plastic models but no wood.  With each one I learned a lot and gained basic and mid modeling skills.  I found the price very manageable.  Recommend you look at a few build logs on this site for any model you might be interested in building before buying. Also, start a build log for anything you do, since you can ask others for help.

The key is take your time, enjoy and realize that no one will notice any flaw but you, good modeling.

Current Projects:                                                                                          Completed Projects:

Phantom New York Pilot Boat - Model Shipways - 1:96                        Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack - Model Shipways - 1:24

18th Century Long Boat - Model Shipways - 1:48

Norwegian Sailing Pram - Model Shipways - 1:12

Lowell Grand Banks Dory - Model Shipways - 1:24