Lowell Grand Banks Dory by Claire7 - FINISHED - Model Shipways - 1:24

I’m new to the group but have enjoyed reading previous building logs. My background is in making miniatures, the only previous boat experience was the Dumas 12” boat which I finished recently. I wanted to try something more detailed and develop my skills so I now have the Grand Banks dory and the Norwegian pram.

Earlier on I had bought the BlueJacket Cape Cod catboat but realized that was not a good starting point! I think that boat is absolutely beautiful so I want to do the kit justice. 

I will appreciate very much any feedback/assistance along the way.  

Just for fun I will show the finished Dumas… 

D3538725-6E20-4A8E-9644-82950767455B.jpeg

47EC05D7-ED80-4D51-A394-FFE3BD00BCBA.jpeg

Enjoy!  Looks like you will do fine!

Gregg

Current Projects:                                                     Completed Projects:                                                                 Waiting for Shipyard Clearance:

Bluenose 1921 1:64 - Model Shipways                   Norwegian Sailing Pram 1:12 - Model Shipways                    Yacht America Schooner 1851 1:64 - Model Shipways

Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack 1:24 - Model Shipways        RMS Titanic 1:300 - OcCre  (Couldn't help myself when it was on sale)

H.M. Schooner Ballahoo 1:64 - Caldercraft                             USS Constitution  1:76 - Model Shipways

Santa Maria Caravelle 1:48 - Ships of Pavel Nikitin

3 hours ago, Claire7 said:

My background is in making miniatures,

I've always envied the doll house miniatures modelers. They seem to have a strong market for their finished models. Unfortunately, with ship models, not so much. :D We used to have one of the largest "brick and mortar" doll house miniatures stores (with a big mail order business, as well,) in the town where I lived. I used to get a lot of ship modeling "miniature lumber" there. Sadly, they didn't survive the Pandemic and went out of business.