Hi from South Africa - novice alert!

Hi everyone at MSW, and thanks for having me on board.

I'm based in Mossel Bay, South Africa, and am very excited at the prospect of starting my first model ship. A love for all things ocean-going was previously expressed in sailing, including ten years on Captain Robert Beebe's original wooden motor yacht, Passagemaker. However, my experience with all things wood is unfortunately currently restricted to rough sanding, varnishing, amateur carving, and an unfortunate incident where it was necessary to put a blow torch to the hull to barbeque a shipworm infestation. However, despite a long-standing appreciation for wooden ship models, I have never tried my hand at modelling before. 

I have purchased, on a whim, the original San Francisco Galeon S. XVI Wood Ship Model Kit (AL #20408), second-hand (in hindsight, no, not ideal, yet here I am). The original owner had already progressed as far as starting the first layer of hull planking, but even to my untrained eye, it was a bit of a botch job. Thus far, I have only dug out nails to remove this planking, followed by light sanding. The bulkheads had not been faired whatsoever, and will probably be my first hands-on job to ensure proper placement of the strakes. I am also concerned about the bulkheads, with not all having been glued/fixed at a 90 degree angle. Any advice in this regard would be much appreciated! 

At the moment, I am purely delving into online resources to learn the basics of ship modelling, and already several posts on MSW have been extremely enlightening. I am also compiling a list of basic tools to start out with, comparing quality and price. Unfortunately, a modelling hobby costs a pretty penny out here on the southern tip of Africa, with a heady shipment fee added to the import of quality tools. So the aim is to start out with the bare bones and then work my way up as time (and skill) progresses.